Incoming AAUP Executive Director Announced

Welcome to Peter Berkery, next Executive Director of AAUP, beginning March 1, 2013. Read the full press release here.

2013 Annual Meeting

The 2013 AAUP Annual Meeting will take place at the Seaport Hotel in Boston, June 18-20, 2013. Keep up-to-date on program planning, registration, exhibiting, and other developments via the Annual Meeting Facebook page, Twitter feed (@AAUP2013), and AAUP website.

“Books That Matter” Essay Series

This October, AAUP launched an essay series on the Digital Digest blog called "Books That Matter." "Books That Matter" showcases the invaluable contributions that university presses have made to society, helping to shape our modern world. In every publisher or editor's career, there are books that stand out the most for their impact—a book that changes a community or a discipline. To date, nine members have shared their inspiring stories.

National Book Award and Nobel Prize

This fall has been another proud prize season for university presses. Poet David Ferry was honored with a National Book Award for Bewilderment, published by University of Chicago Press, and author Mo Yan, whose work has been published by Chinese University Press and University of Oklahoma Press, and distributed by University of Chicago Press and Columbia University Press, was honored with a Nobel Prize in Literature.