2019 BookShow WebBanner

Selected entries to the 2019 Book, Jacket, and Journal Show have been announced! View the selected entries on the newly launched AUPresses Design website.

2019 Show Committee

Karen Copp, Iowa, Chair
Jessica Booth, Utah
Alan Brownoff, Alberta
Joel Coggins, Pittsburgh
Lisa Hamm, Columbia
Marianne Jankowski, Northwestern
Rachel Ross, Wayne State
Dan Ruccia, Duke
Isaac Tobin, Chicago

2019 Show Judges

MATT AVERY is the founder of the design studio Monograph. Previously, he worked at the University of Chicago Press for fourteen years, serving as the designer of record for the 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. His work has been recognized by the Type Director’s Club, 50 books | 50 covers, Communication Arts Typography Annual, Design Museum of Chicago, Print, The Society of Typographic Arts, Book Cover Designs, Chicago Book Clinic, and the AUPresses Book, Jacket, and Journal Show. He lives with his wife and two children in Chicago.

NICOLE CAPUTO is the Creative Director of Counterpoint Press, the Art Director of Catapult, and the co-founder of She Designs Books, an organization that celebrates women in book design. She was formerly vp, Creative Director at Hachette Book Group. Awards include the One Show, Communication Arts, Type Director’s Club, Art Director’s Club, AIGA/NY, how International Design, PRINT Regional Design, the New York Book Show, the National Gold Ink Awards, London International Creative Competition, STEP Design Magazine, and the Publishing Professionals Network.

NA KIM is a freelance illustrator and senior designer at Farrar, Straus and Giroux. Her work has been recognized and featured by associations such as AIGA, American Illustration, Juxtapoz, and the New York Times. Notable clients include the New York Times, the New York Times Magazine, Simon & Schuster, and Penguin Random House. A graduate of Maryland Institute College of Art, Na lives and works in New York City.

SARA T. SAUERS is on the faculty of the University of Iowa Center for the Book, where she teaches typography, book design, and letterpress printing in the MFA in Book Arts program. She is a practicing book designer and printer who incorporates both state-of-the-art and historical design and print technologies in her projects. Her work has been recognized by the AUPresses Book, Jacket, and Journal Show, and in 2002 she received the Carl Hertzog Award for excellence in book design. Sara was a vice president of the American Printing History Association from 2014 to 2018.